Hunger Games Singapore’s ‘The Hunger Games’ Poster Hunt Experience In Cathay Cineplexes

We had reported about Cathay Cineplexes holding a ‘The Hunger Games’ poster hunt where you will get a chance to invite 27 other friends to attend an exclusive screening of a movie in Cathay Cineplexes Platinum Movie Suites.

I had decided to go on this ‘The Hunger Games’ Poster Hunt during the weekend. This post covers my personal experience of ‘The Hunger Games’ poster hunt and hopefully this post will prove to be informative for you.

Based on my experience, you will require at least half a day to visit all 5 Cathay Cineplexes outlets. Head over to Cathay Cineplexes website for a list of their outlet locations.

I will be listing down my experience during ‘The Hunger Games’ Poster Hunt at each of the Cathay Cineplex outlet based on whether I was able obtain the entry forms to “Win An Exclusive Screening At Cathay Cineplexes Platinum Movie Suites” contest and if ‘The Hunger Games’ poster was easy to find at each of the Cathay Cineplex outlet.

If you weren’t interested in joining this contest before, take a look at what I had obtained from Cathay Cineplexes during my ‘The Hunger Games’ Poster Hunt journey.

These are kind of like mini ‘The Hunger Games’ Katniss Everdeen and Peeta Mellark posters. When I say kind of, it’s because of what’s behind these roughly A5 sized glossy papers.

That’s right. These are actually entry forms to “Win An Exclusive Screening At Cathay Cineplexes Platinum Movie Suites” contest. You would have never guessed if you didn’t take a look at the back. I have taken extra entry forms to enter this contest with my friends. I have never been to Cathay Cineplexes’s Platinum Movie Suite so it will be a cool experience if I get the chance to do so.

As mentioned before in our previous post, you will need to collect all 5 clues from each of the Cathay Cineplex outlet by scanning the QR codes on ‘The Hunger Games’ posters in these outlets. After that, you will need to put together the 5 clues together in the correct manner and fill it into the entry form along with your persona particulars.

To be fair, all I’m able to tell you are each of the QR codes will lead to one of ‘The Hunger Games’ characters posters and the clue will be on the poster itself.

If you are a fan, all you need would be to scan any one of the QR codes to be able to guess what the other clues are.

Let’s get on to my experience shall we?

Cathay Cineplex Downtown East

Ease of finding ‘The Hunger Games’ poster: Hard. I couldn’t find the poster. None of the staff at the box office counter knew what I was talking about when I told them I’m looking for ‘The Hunger Games’ poster with QR code to enter this contest. They had directed me to the compiled characters posters of Katniss Everdeen and Gale Hawthorne with ‘The Hunger Games’ teaser poster placed at the entrance to cinema halls as seen below.

After telling them that was not what I had wanted, the staff directed me to their manager who went to search for the poster. After 5 minutes, the manager and a staff led me to the walkway outside cinema halls. It’s rather impractical to place the poster inside for if you don’t have a ticket, you wouldn’t be able to enter unless you ask for help.

Ease of obtaining entry form: Easy. Shortly after directing me to ‘The Hunger Games’ poster, the manager handed me the entry form.

Verdict: Though the staff and manager didn’t know what I was talking about initially, they were all very pleasant, helpful and polite. Obtaining the QR code and entry form should be no problem if you approach the staff and explain clearly the full details of this contest and what you require.

Cathay Cineplex AMK Hub

Ease of finding ‘The Hunger Games’ poster: Easy. It was located near the snack bar which is a prominent spot that is hard to miss. Pretty much a snap and go experience.

Ease of obtaining entry form: Medium. Staff at box office counter has no idea what I’m talking about when I told them I need the entry forms to this contest. One went into the office to ask the manager and came back shortly with a stack of entry forms.

Verdict: Explain to the staff what you are looking for and you should be able to get the entry form quickly.

Cathay Cineplex Causeway Point

Ease of finding ‘The Hunger Games’ poster: Easy. It was located at the stretch of wall where you would have to walk past in order to reach the box office. However, one of our readers told us that when he went to this outlet at a later date, he couldn’t find the poster. The staff had to take it out from the office to let him scan the QR code.

Ease of obtaining entry form: Hard. Staff at the box office counter didn’t know what I was talking about. The staff went to look for the manager who came and I had to explain again that I need to get the entry form. The manager questioned me if I’m sure if there’s such a contest in which I told the manager that the contest details can be found on Cathay Cineplexes website. The manager went back to check and printed our the details of the contest. After that, the manager asked if I had collected all clues. I told I didn’t. The manager then insisted and pointed out to me line by line on the details of the contest that after collecting all clues, the clues will tell me where I am able to obtain the entry form.

Obviously that’s not true and I having collected 2 clues at this point, had an idea of what the clue is. The clue is a 5 parts puzzle which all it does is to verify this person entering the contest has the correct answer or not. Besides that, the manager in Cathay Cineplex Downtown East had handed me the form without asking me if I had collected all the clues. Cathay Cineplexes website also clearly states I’m able to collect entry form at any Cathay Cineplexes box office.

I tried to explain to the manager but the manager insisted on what was said earlier so I left without getting the entry form.

Verdict: If the poster is on display in the public, getting the QR code should be no problem. If it isn’t one of our readers had no problem getting the staff to bring out the poster so he could scan it. If you want to collect the entry form at this outlet, try your luck by stating you had collected all clues and it doesn’t tell you where to collect the form or head to another outlet instead.

Cathay Cineplex Cineleisure

Ease of finding ‘The Hunger Games’ poster: Easy. ‘The Hunger Games’ poster is located at level 6 (or was it 9?) of Cineleisure. Placed near the escalators the last time I went, you can’t miss it.

Ease of obtaining entry form: Easy. It was placed on the counter of the Cathay Cineplex Cineleisure level 5 box office which is on the same level as Coca-Cola Red Lounge.

Verdict: Shouldn’t be any problem.

The Cathay Cineplex

Ease of finding ‘The Hunger Games’ poster: Easy. The last time I checked there are 2 ‘The Hunger Games’ posters with QR codes located on level 5 of The Cathay. One which is in a prominent spot near the lifts and escalators and the other near the toilets.

Ease of obtaining entry form: Ask for it from the box office and you should be able to get it without any problem.

Verdict: Should be able to get what you need under 5 minutes providing there is no queue at the box office.

As for submitting the entry form, Cathay Cineplexes contest details states we have to drop the entry forms into the lucky draw box. However, I couldn’t find a lucky draw box but Cathay Cineplex Cineleisure manager told me to drop it into the feedback form box.

When in doubt, just reconfirm if that’s the case with the staff.

May the odds be ever in your favor!

‘The Hunger Games’ will be released in Singapore on 22 March 2012.

Don’t forget to follow us on Twitter (@HungerGamesSG) as well as ‘Like’ us on Facebook for the latest updates!

Posted on January 25, 2012, in Cathay Cineplexes, Seen In Singapore, The Hunger Games Movie and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Reply

