Teen Ink’s Interview With ‘The Hunger Games Unauthorized Companion’ Author

The Hunger Games Companion: The Unauthorized Guide to the Series

Previously, we had shared with you the first 2 chapters from “The Hunger Games Companion: The Unauthorized Guide to the Series” by Lois H. Gresh. Rachel Herriman, one of the writers from Teen Ink, shared with us her interview with Lois H. Gresh.

Lois Gresh is the author of several popular novels, including the short story collection, Eldritch Evolution and her sci-fi thriller, Blood and Ice. She has also written many unofficial guides which belong in any collector’s or fanatic’s library, such as The Science of Superheroes, The Twilight Companion and most recently, The Hunger Games Companion.

I was recently given the opportunity to interview Ms. Gresh for Teen Ink.

you very much for interviewing me for your website. It’s a pleasure to be here.

Rachel: Thank you for agreeing to be interviewed! Why don’t we begin with you telling us about yourself?

Lois: I consider myself to be fairly ordinary, although I do have a vivid imagination. I read constantly – magazines and nonfiction books of all kinds, as well as a wide variety of novels. I’m crazy about art, so I enjoy visiting galleries whenever I travel to conferences. As for music, I listen to everything from metal to the blues to rock n roll to pop to sound tracks to classical: it just depends on my mood. I swim almost every day, and I also like riding my bike. I enjoy nature – forests, oceans, lakes, birds, animals of all kinds, and in particular, beautiful fish.

Rachel: How did you first become interested in writing?

Lois: When I first learned how to read, I instantly loved books. I actually remember the moment. I began writing stories at a very early age and never stopped. As a child, if I dared to whine that I was bored on rainy Saturdays, my mother would say, “Go read the dictionary. It’ll give you something to do.” I found that I loved the rhythm of words, and I became very fond of the thesaurus. We weren’t particularly well off – that’s a nice way of saying we didn’t have much – and so, I spent a lot of time at the library and reading an ancient (1930’s!) set of encyclopedias that my mother kept in the hallway outside my bedroom. At 9, I wrote a 55-page science fiction story; at 12, a 220-page “report” about ancient Egypt; at 16, a 250-page book about poverty; at 22, a 500-page novel; at 23, a 400-page novel; and during college classes, I wrote horror stories featuring my professors.

Rachel: You recently wrote THE HUNGER GAMES COMPANION; how did that opportunity come about?

Lois: I was gripped by THE HUNGER GAMES trilogy, but I also felt that Suzanne Collins’ books were filled with important messages. For example, people should focus on what matters (kindness, peace, nurturing their children, health, food for all) than on things such as what they look like and how mean they can be to other people. Is it more important to get ahead – literally to survive in THE HUNGER GAMES — by stabbing other people in the back, or does it make more sense to get ahead by using your skills and intelligence and trying to help the people around you?

I was struck by the horrific nature of Katniss’ life from the first chapters of THE HUNGER GAMES. I saw the trilogy as a reflection – a mirror – of our own times, our own history as human beings. The trilogy is a bold warning, in my opinion, that as an intelligent species, we need to pull together and save ourselves from a future that could even remotely be anything like what we see in THE HUNGER GAMES. The novels are brilliant in that they acutely warn us about where we might be heading if we don’t take care of each other on a global level. Mass starvation isn’t right. Sending little children into the slaughterhouse of war isn’t right. Environmental meltdowns, terrorist acts, and nuclear warfare aren’t right. Set against these themes, Suzanne Collins brings us a story of rich beauty. Katniss, Peeta, Gale, Prim, Rue, and all the others: as readers, we care about them and desperately want everything to turn out okay. THE HUNGER GAMES novels are among the finest books I’ve read in quite awhile.

So when my longtime editor at St. Martin’s Press asked if I wanted to write THE HUNGER GAMES COMPANION, I immediately said, “Yes!”

You can read the rest of the interview over at Teen Ink.

Many thanks to Rachel Herriman for the tip!

“The Hunger Games Companion: The Unauthorized Guide to the Series” is available in Books Kinokuniya, BookWeb Singapore by Books Kinokuniya and all major bookstores at S$ 22.90.

Don’t forget to follow us on Twitter (@HungerGamesSG) as well as ‘Like’ us on Facebook for the latest updates!

Posted on January 3, 2012, in The Hunger Games Movie and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Reply

