Gary Ross Talks To Vanity Fair About ‘The Hunger Games’

image

Vanity Fair has released an interview with Gary Ross, the director of ‘The Hunger Games’, about what it is like working with Jennifer Lawrence, Josh Hutcherson and more.

Krista Smith: Tell me—how did you get into The Hunger Games?

Gary Ross: I read the book. My kids turned me on to it, and I went nuts. I guess, about a year ago. I literally read it and said, “I have to make the movie.”

And what’s been the best part so far?

You rarely get a tentpole that has this much emotional depth, this much character to dive into. The character of Katniss is . . . incredible. Suzanne [Collins, the author of the books,] did such an amazing job, and painted such a vivid character that I think for me and Jen. . . . It was just exciting every day. Not just from a pure filmmaking perspective, but also just in terms of the depth of the acting and exploring the character.

How did you get Jennifer to play Katniss?

I was just a fan. When you do what I do, any time you see an actor like this emerge—I think everybody’s head sort of snapped, you know? Both from Winter’s Bone and other work that she’s done, I was just always very aware of her. And then I had a meeting with her, and I was just as impressed, and then she came in and read for us and she sort of blew me away. But I wasn’t totally surprised, because I think that an actor like this comes along, you know, once a generation.

Head over to Vanity Fair now to read the rest of the interview.

-Vanora (Admin)

About Hunger Games SG

Singapore's only Hunger Games Fansite, dedicated to bringing you all the latest news about the novels and the upcoming movies.

Posted on November 13, 2011, in The Hunger Games Movie and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Reply

