Amandla Stenberg Speaks About “Colombiana” and “The Hunger Games” With Dream Magazine

Amandla Stenberg, who will be playing Rue in “The Hunger Games” movie coming out in Singapore on March 23, 2012, spoke with Dream Magazine recently regarding her being involved in “Colombiana”, “The Hunger Games” and what got her into acting.

Amandla Stenberg

According to Yahoo! Movies Singapore:

At age 10, Cataleya Restrepo (Amandla Stenberg) witnesses the brutal murder of her parents by a Colombian drug lord Don Luis. Cataleya manages to escape the bullets of the assassin and reaches Chicago, where her gangster uncle, Emilio, lives. Emilio is doing his best to keep Cataleya (Zoe Saldana) out of the criminal life, but she is determined to become a professional killer. At 25, Cataleya (Zoe Saldana) has become a real killer operating on behalf of her uncle, but her sole desire is to find Don Luis and avenge the death of her parents.

Amandla Stenberg spoke about what it was like playing a a younger Zoe Saldana:

Dream: How was it portraying a younger Zoe Saldana?

Amandla: It was cool playing Zoe because we connected on a personal level, and then I got to “be” her on screen. I think this really helped my performance. To create the character of Cataleya, we talked about mannerisms and motives with the director, Olivier, and shared our own personal experiences. I loved her immediately. She’s so sweet and supportive. I was unable to go to the Colombiana premiere because I was working on the Hunger Games, but she called me right after watching it and filled me in.

Dream: Your role handled very hard topics… how did you put yourself in the character mindset to prepare yourself for this role?

Amandla: I think the character is very animalistic and very focused, so I thought of myself as a cat, very sleek and determined.

Amandla Stenberg also shared what it was like being part of “The Hunger Games” cast.

Dream: What would be your dream role?

Amandla: Besides Rue in the Hunger Games, I would love to play someone in the fashion industry. One of my favorite movies is The Devil Wears Prada because of the fashion and glamour, and the location, Paris! I’ve always wanted to go there, ever since I first read Madeline at age six.

Dream: You’re currently working on The Hunger Games, what’s it like to be part of a cast of a movie that is so highly anticipated?

Amandla: It’s surreal because I was such a big fan of the books before I even auditioned. When I heard that there was going to be a movie, I remember being so excited for the opening in March, never thinking I was going to be a part of the cast! To be playing Rue is such an honor, and I can’t wait to see the movie.

Head over Dream Magazine to read the full interview with Amandla Stenberg!

“Colombiana” is rated NC16 and will open in Singapore on September 28, 2011. “The Hunger Games” is not yet rated but it is scheduled to open in Singapore on March 23, 2011.

Source: Dream Magazine via Amandla Stenberg Facebook fanpage.

-Vanora(Admin)

About Hunger Games SG

Singapore's only Hunger Games Fansite, dedicated to bringing you all the latest news about the novels and the upcoming movies.

Posted on September 24, 2011, in The Hunger Games Movie and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Reply

